GDM2setup should ask before blurring an image

Bug #531619 reported by Asif Youssuff on 2010-03-03
14
This bug affects 2 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
GDM2Setup
Low
Growlf

Bug Description

The tooltip is easily not seen, since it must be hovered over.

The better way to do this is to inform the user with a dialog after the blur button has been clicked, with the text from the tooltip, with the buttons: cancel and blur, blur not being the default action, as per gnome hig:

"Choose the default button to be the most likely action, such as a confirmation action or an action that applies changes in a utility window. Do not make a button the default if its action is irreversible, destructive or otherwise inconvenient to the user. If there is no appropriate button in your window, to designate as the default button, do not set one."

http://library.gnome.org/devel/hig-book/stable/windows-utility.html.en

An even nicer feature on top of this would be to duplicate the image first, then blur the duplicate, so that the action is "reversible" by simply reverting to the old copy.

Growlf (growlf) wrote :

This is a good suggestion - and one that I had not anticipated, since the default was originally set to the Close button. The next release will have this fixed. Thank you for your support.

Changed in gdm2setup:
status: New → In Progress
importance: Undecided → Low
assignee: nobody → Growlf (growlf)
Growlf (growlf) wrote :

The default action should be set to the Close button or None

Changed in gdm2setup:
milestone: none → 0.5.0

The bigger usability issue here is the fact that the button makes irreversible changes to the currently chosen file--not a copy--and the irreversible nature is pretty much hidden from the user unless he/she happens to hover over the button long enough for the tooltip to appear.

Critical information should never appear only in a tooltip. Some of my data has been lost because of this.

Furthermore, this app is a GDM settings app, not an image editor. The expected behavior is for it to modify GDM's settings. It's reasonable for someone presented with this button to assume that GDM has some built-in facility to blur the background on the fly. It's not reasonable to guess that the image itself will be modified.

Therefore, my final conclusion is that the blur button should be removed entirely since it has nothing to do with GDM settings and has a large potential to cause harm. If users want to blur the background image, they should fire up their favorite image editor and blur away.

By the way, the importance shouldn't be set to low, since there's a large potential for data loss. The importance should be raised to the maximum possible setting.

To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers