Closing last window on workspace shows workspace switch animation

Bug #1024843 reported by Cassidy James Blaede on 2012-07-15
94
This bug affects 21 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Gala
Fix Released
Undecided
Tom Beckmann

Bug Description

When I close the last window on my single-workspace setup, Gala displays an animation as if I'm switching to the workspace to the right, which doesn't make sense.

Changed in gala:
status: New → Confirmed
milestone: none → luna-beta1
ainq (ainq) wrote :

Attached is a demonstration of this bug, it really seems inconsistent...

Tom Beckmann (tombeckmann) wrote :

Of course it makes sense. There's a second workspace on the right to it, so it switches to that one when the current workspace it removed because the last window was closed.
To understand this better, put a window on the second workspace and close one on the first workspace, you see the yourself sliding one to the right. Everything else wouldn't make sense and break its concept.

Changed in gala:
status: Confirmed → Won't Fix
Cody Garver (codygarver) wrote :

I don't think this should happen if there is only 1 active workspace.

Pranav (pranavkaranjkar) wrote :

It happens also when you shutdown the computer....

Daniel Fore (danrabbit) wrote :

I have to agree that it doesn't make sense because you really don't have 2 workspaces. One is the "new" workspace which doesn't exist in concept until there is an app on it (even though we both know that it always exists in reality).

Changed in gala:
status: Won't Fix → Confirmed
Tom Beckmann (tombeckmann) wrote :

You'll always have two workspaces now. If you close the very last window, the workspace won't close, it will just stay. Otherwise it will act as usual.
So you won't see that unnecessary animation anymore and everyone should be happy :)

Changed in gala:
status: Confirmed → Fix Released
assignee: nobody → Tom Beckmann (tombeckmann)
Dan Hatch (danhatch333) wrote :

This bug exists in Beta 1

To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers

Bug attachments