Fuel generates not all graphviz information about deployment graphs

Bug #1566413 reported by Alexandr Kostrikov on 2016-04-05
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Fuel for OpenStack
High
Alexandr Kostrikov
Mitaka
High
Alexandr Kostrikov

Bug Description

Detailed bug description:

It is good to view graph in visual representation to quickly understand how deployment had been done.

Currently there is one handler, which is available at graph.gv handler:
curl -v -s -X GET -H "X-Auth-Token: $TOKEN" "http://localhost:8000/api/clusters/1/deploy_tasks/graph.gv" > /tmp/graph.gv

Probably, we should add more and adapt current handlers.

Impact:
There is no graphical representation relevant to 'Plugins', 'Deployed Environment', 'Release' objects.
User has no support to quickly troubleshoot and compare results of deployment.

(This check performed automatically)
Please, make sure that bug description contains the following sections filled in with the appropriate data related to the bug you are describing:

actual result

expected result

steps to reproduce

For more detailed information on the contents of each of the listed sections see https://wiki.openstack.org/wiki/Fuel/How_to_contribute#Here_is_how_you_file_a_bug

tags: added: need-info
Changed in fuel:
importance: Medium → High
Changed in fuel:
status: New → Confirmed
Dmitry Pyzhov (dpyzhov) on 2016-04-08
tags: added: team-enhancements
Changed in fuel:
assignee: Fuel Enhancements (fuel-enhancements-team) → Fuel Python Team (fuel-python)
Changed in fuel:
milestone: 9.0 → 10.0
Dmitry Pyzhov (dpyzhov) on 2016-04-27
Changed in fuel:
assignee: Fuel Python Team (fuel-python) → Fuel Toolbox (fuel-toolbox)
tags: added: feature
Vladimir Sharshov (vsharshov) wrote :

We have another instrument for such things: Astute can and will generate graph in Graphviz view. If you use Dry-Run mode[0]: , it will do it and save file in master node: https://github.com/openstack/fuel-astute/blob/master/lib/astute/config.rb#L104

What do you think about it?

[0] https://bugs.launchpad.net/fuel/+bug/1580665

tags: removed: need-info

Thanks, Vladimir. Dry-run option looks good.
I will review it once it is land in master/stable.

Changed in fuel:
status: Confirmed → In Progress
assignee: Fuel Toolbox (fuel-toolbox) → Alexandr Kostrikov (akostrikov-mirantis)
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers