make dnsmasq log easy to access and include it into diagnostic snapshots

Bug #1494174 reported by Alexei Sheplyakov on 2015-09-10
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Fuel for OpenStack
High
Ihor Kalnytskyi

Bug Description

dnsmasq logs are necessary for debugging nodes' boot and networking problems.
However the log file (/var/log/dnsmasq.log) is hidden in the cobbler container and is not included
into the diagnostic snapshots.

Changed in fuel:
assignee: nobody → Fuel Python Team (fuel-python)
Ivan Kliuk (ivankliuk) on 2015-09-10
Changed in fuel:
status: New → Confirmed
Changed in fuel:
assignee: Fuel Python Team (fuel-python) → Igor Kalnitsky (ikalnitsky)
Alexander Gordeev (a-gordeev) wrote :

I'm wondering, is it still valid?

as I've found a lot of dnsmasq.log files across various snapshots. Seems it was included into snapshot from the ancient version of fuel.

File is hidden at <master_IP>/var/log/docker-logs/dnsmasq.log

http://paste.openstack.org/show/473458/

Perhaps, you guys are interested in entirely another dnsmasq log file. Aren't you?

Ihor Kalnytskyi (ikalnytskyi) wrote :

Thanks Alexander, looks like you're right here. I can confirm that /var/log/docker-logs/dnsmasq.log on master node (and inside diagnostic snapshot) is the same as /var/log/dnsmasq.log in cobbler container.

Proof (see inode index):

    [root@fuel ~]# ls -i /var/log/docker-logs/dnsmasq.log
    392517 /var/log/docker-logs/dnsmasq.log

    [root@fuel ~]# dockerctl shell cobbler ls -i /var/log/dnsmasq.log
    392517 /var/log/dnsmasq.log

Move it to Invalid.

Changed in fuel:
status: Confirmed → Invalid
Dmitry Pyzhov (dpyzhov) on 2015-10-22
tags: added: area-python
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers