[VIPs] VIPs names should be unique

Bug #1487482 reported by Aleksey Kasatkin on 2015-08-21
18
This bug affects 3 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Fuel for OpenStack
High
Artem Roma

Bug Description

It should be checked before deployment that first 13 symbols of all VIPs names are unique.
It is required for getting deployment successful.
It makes no sense to check them earlier as set of enabled plugins can be changed before deployment.

tags: added: module-networks
Liubov Efremova (lefremova) wrote :

It seems to me that this bug describes the particular case of https://bugs.launchpad.net/fuel/+bug/1484181.

Sergey Vilgelm (sergey.vilgelm) wrote :

Yes. It is right. Let me mark this bug as a duplicate.

Aleksey Kasatkin (alekseyk-ru) wrote :

Not a duplicate anymore as 1484181 is marked as 'fix committed' and the fix does not cover this case.

Folks, we don't need to check only the first 13 symbols of vip but all vip name. Please look at this fuel-library code:
https://github.com/stackforge/fuel-library/blob/f54470a149b67232f69b7b4ba304b2021f81ba0d/deployment/puppet/osnailyfacter/lib/puppet/parser/functions/generate_vips.rb#L57-L63

Igor Shishkin (teran) on 2015-10-08
Changed in fuel:
milestone: 7.0 → 8.0
Artem Roma (aroma-x) on 2015-10-09
Changed in fuel:
assignee: Fuel Python Team (fuel-python) → Artem Roma (aroma-x)

Fix proposed to branch: master
Review: https://review.openstack.org/233714

Changed in fuel:
status: Confirmed → In Progress
Dmitry Pyzhov (dpyzhov) on 2015-10-22
tags: added: area-python

Reviewed: https://review.openstack.org/233714
Committed: https://git.openstack.org/cgit/openstack/fuel-web/commit/?id=fdc483ddaca2f87c9a031c7e2f3f5d48f24fd159
Submitter: Jenkins
Branch: master

commit fdc483ddaca2f87c9a031c7e2f3f5d48f24fd159
Author: Artem Roma <email address hidden>
Date: Mon Oct 12 19:18:20 2015 +0300

    Add check if VIP name already present in network config

    Add check to 'assign_vips_for_net_groups_for_api' method of 7.0 network
    serializer. The check detects data of particular VIP being overwritten
    by VIP with the same name. In case it does specific error is raised.
    Such situation may occur when plugins of the cluster introduce
    conflicting network configuration (that is shown by added unit test).

    The exception is caught in
    ApplyChangesTaskManager.check_before_deployment that fails the
    deployment process in such case.

    Change-Id: Icdd6ed649d92ba5745d093a9612c2f30c082071c
    Closes-Bug: #1487482

Changed in fuel:
status: In Progress → Fix Committed
Dmitry Belyaninov (dbelyaninov) wrote :

Verified on 361 by unittest

Changed in fuel:
status: Fix Committed → Fix Released
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Duplicates of this bug

Other bug subscribers