Install of Fuel fails on RAID 1 disk (C602 drive controller)

Bug #1361358 reported by Joseph Fisher on 2014-08-25
10
This bug affects 2 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Fuel for OpenStack
Medium
Fuel Sustaining
6.1.x
Medium
Fuel Python (Deprecated)

Bug Description

When installing Fuel 5.0.1 on a Dell C8220 using a RAID 1 array (C602 drive controller), the following error is encountered: "Disk sdd contains BIOS RAID metadata, but is not part of any recognized BIOS RAID sets. Ignoring disk sdd".

CentOS 6.5 installs fine on this hardware, and the RAID array is recognized correctly. This problem is only encountered when installing Fuel.

Changed in fuel:
assignee: nobody → Miroslav Anashkin (manashkin)
Changed in fuel:
status: New → Confirmed
Miroslav Anashkin (manashkin) wrote :

Yes, Fuel 5.x and previous Fuel versions does not include drivers for software RAID arrays, built-in to chipsets.
Current plans are to include support for software RAID arrays using built-in Linux RAID tools (mdadm).

Changed in fuel:
importance: Undecided → Medium
milestone: none → 6.0
Changed in fuel:
assignee: Miroslav Anashkin (manashkin) → Fuel Library Team (fuel-library)
tags: added: release-notes
Changed in fuel:
milestone: 6.0 → 6.1
Changed in fuel:
assignee: Fuel Library Team (fuel-library) → Fuel provisioning team (fuel-provisioning)
Dmitry Pyzhov (dpyzhov) on 2015-04-03
Changed in fuel:
milestone: 6.1 → 7.0
Dmitry Pyzhov (dpyzhov) wrote :

Miroslav, could you check if this issue still exists?

Dmitry Pyzhov (dpyzhov) on 2015-04-23
Changed in fuel:
milestone: 6.1 → 7.0
Alexander Gordeev (a-gordeev) wrote :

re-assigning to fuel-python with 'ibp' tag.

tags: added: ibp
Vladimir Sharshov (vsharshov) wrote :

As i remember, we add support for some soft and hardware raids. Looks like it can be already fixed. Any way this is know issue and can be safely moved to 8.0

Changed in fuel:
milestone: 7.0 → 8.0
Dmitry Pyzhov (dpyzhov) on 2015-08-06
no longer affects: fuel/7.0.x
no longer affects: fuel/8.0
Dmitry Pyzhov (dpyzhov) on 2015-10-22
tags: added: area-python
Changed in fuel:
milestone: 8.0 → 9.0

We passed SCF in 8.0. Moving the bug to 9.0.

Dmitry Pyzhov (dpyzhov) on 2016-03-03
tags: added: module-volumes

(This check performed automatically)
Please, make sure that bug description contains the following sections filled in with the appropriate data related to the bug you are describing:

actual result

version

expected result

steps to reproduce

For more detailed information on the contents of each of the listed sections see https://wiki.openstack.org/wiki/Fuel/How_to_contribute#Here_is_how_you_file_a_bug

tags: added: need-info
Dmitry Pyzhov (dpyzhov) wrote :

Fuel doesn't support raid arrays out of box. So this is a feature request that needs to be implemented with a blueprint. Adding tag 'need-bp' and moving to the 10.0 release.

tags: added: need-bp
Changed in fuel:
milestone: 9.0 → 10.0
tags: removed: need-info
Dmitry Pyzhov (dpyzhov) on 2016-06-22
Changed in fuel:
assignee: Fuel Python (Deprecated) (fuel-python) → Fuel Sustaining (fuel-sustaining-team)
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers