Update item status from Check In / Item Status window

Bug #1862982 reported by Anna Goben
40
This bug affects 7 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Evergreen
New
Wishlist
Kyle Huckins

Bug Description

I thought I put in this bug years ago, but cannot find it now. Please merge if found:

Have a popup menu option to select from Actions that will allow circ staff to quick-change an item’s status without having to open up the Item Attribute Editor. (Example: Rather than Damage out an item that can be repaired while clearing the dropbox, be able to immediately mark it Mending or Temporarily Unavailable.)

Revision history for this message
Anna Goben (agoben) wrote :

This is has cropped up again recently with circ staff needing to be able to batch-change item statuses, but the cataloging staff do not want circ staff poking around in other entries.

Lynn Floyd (lfloyd)
Changed in evergreen:
importance: Undecided → Wishlist
Revision history for this message
John Amundson (jamundson) wrote :

We just a library express a desire for something similar. One of their departments updates items to a "Display" status regularly, and it would be nice to be able to update them without visiting the Editor.

One way I envision this is an additional action under the "Mark" subheading called 'Item as...'. When clicked, a pop-up modal appears listing item statuses. The staff member could then choose the appropriate status.

Meg Stroup (mstroup)
tags: added: checkin
Revision history for this message
Meg Stroup (mstroup) wrote :

Our circ workgroup has expressed that such a feature would be very useful in the checkin process. They'd like to be able to change to a status like mending quickly and easily.

An example use case: It's summer reading (soon!). Circ staff are already overwhelmed by the number of library users checking items in and out. It would make their lives easier to change a status to mending without breaking their flow by opening the Item Attribute Editor.

Efficiency is generally a plus with circ tasks :)

Revision history for this message
Elaine Hardy (ehardy) wrote :

I would prefer, rather than circ staff edit a status, that checking in items with statuses such as damaged, temporarily unavailable, or similar, automatically changes the status to available or reshelving as happens when a missing item is checked in. Having it occur at checkin without any other intervention would be faster than staff selecting and changing a status.

tags: added: circ-checkin circulation itemstatus
removed: checkin
Kyle Huckins (khuckins)
Changed in evergreen:
assignee: nobody → Kyle Huckins (khuckins)
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers