Clearing your browser cookies means you can no longer access your workstation

Bug #1862785 reported by Jane Sandberg on 2020-02-11
14
This bug affects 2 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Evergreen
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

This is one of the top complaints that our staff has about the Web client. At our public service desks, we are constantly clearing out cookies as we demonstrate various things to patrons, helping them with log-in issues, and trying not to retain any of their personal data on our staff computers.

However, that also means that every single setting/configuration we've ever made is toast, since they are all attached to a workstation that we can no longer access.

I know that one solution is to convert some workstation settings into user settings. But some settings really do make more sense as workstation settings, and it's pretty frustrating that they don't survive clearing some cookies, especially since they are stored in the database!

Terran McCanna (tmccanna) wrote :

When you recreate a workstation, you should be able to give it the same name and have it retrieve the settings you had before - right?

John Amundson (jamundson) wrote :

Terran's suggestion always works for us. When we re-register using the same exact name, Evergreen links the workstation to the existing workstation ID, and so all the settings stored in the database come back.

Terran McCanna (tmccanna) wrote :

I also use this to share my settings between my desktop and my laptop, and between Firefox and Chrome.

What we do is have multiple chrome profiles, we have one chrome profile for Evergreen, and staff use a different profile for other web use. That way they can clear cache/settings in the general use profile without touching the evergreen chrome profile, so this issue has never come up for us.
Josh

Jane Sandberg (sandbej) wrote :

Thanks, John, Josh, and Terran! We'll give those a try. Maybe this is more of a documentation need.

Yamil (ysuarez) wrote :

Jane, in case it helps I wonder if using the browser in "incognito/private mode" when helping patrons will decrease the instances of EG client cookies getting erase.

Josh, I will make a note of using multiple profiles in the future.

Jason Boyer (jboyer) wrote :

There's an even easier fix once you're on 3.4.2 (plus hatch): bug 1830391 stores workstations in hatch (just workstations, not all settings like previous versions). You can wipe your browser's history completely clean and the next time you go to the login screen your workstation(s) are still in the list.

Michele Morgan (mmorgan) wrote :

For a little more information, see this discussion on IRC:

http://irc.evergreen-ils.org/evergreen/2020-02-11#i_436001

Terran McCanna (tmccanna) wrote :

Very cool, I missed that Hatch could do that now!

To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers