Clear? checkbox is unintuitive on the Manage Copy Alerts screen

Bug #1788063 reported by Jane Sandberg on 2018-08-20
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Evergreen
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

The following is from the Web staff client in 3.1.2:

To delete/remove a copy alert from the Manage Copy Alerts interface, you have to do the following:

1) Select the Clear? checkbox
2) Click OK.

This is sort-of analogous to how a circulation worker might delete/remove a copy alert (Press the Clear button and click OK), but the interface is different.

Since the interfaces are already different, I propose that we use a term more intuitive to cataloging staff in the Manage Copy Alerts interface (e.g. delete, remove). Also, the click-a-checkbox-then-click-OK procedure seems unintuitive to me, though I can't quite put my finger on why.

Looking forward to hearing what y'all think.

Elaine Hardy (ehardy) wrote :

I think delete is the best term.

Remington Steed (rjs7) wrote :

I think the proposed solution for bug 1735816 (if it is committed) should inform how this bug is resolved.

To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers