web client: xul copy template conversion does not immediately propagate xul templates to templates tab

Bug #1773995 reported by Kathy Lussier on 2018-05-29
28
This bug affects 4 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Evergreen
Medium
Unassigned

Bug Description

Evergreen version: 3.0

When xul copy templates move to the web client, they do not immediately propagate to the templates tab, which carries the potential risk of having the old templates overwritten. You can make this happen by following these steps:

1. Verify that you have not have any cat.copy.templates in browser local storage and that you are logging into the web client with an account with existing xul copy templates (staff_client.copy_editor.templates in actor.usr_setting), but no web client templates (webstaff.cat.copy.templates in actor.usr_setting).

2. Retrieve a record in the web client and select the option to add a volume to the record.

3. Note that a webstaff.cat.copy.templates entry is added to the actor.usr_setting table. The old xul templates will also appear in the dropdown menu of the editing tab.

4. Click the template tab. The template dropdown menu is empty.

If you close out of this record and add/edit a copy/volume on a new record, the xul templates will appear in that template tab.

However, if the user, upon seeing the empty dropdown, decides to create a new template before exiting, when they save the new web client template, all of their old templates will be overwritten.

Although we could try training all cataloging staff to not create any new templates until they see the old xul templates in the template tab, this issue makes the template conversion process a little fragile. I would like the process to be a little more robust, particularly since recovering from this error requires that an administrator with database access remove the webstaff.cat.copy.templates setting from the actor.usr_setting table.

Jeanette Lundgren (jlundgren) wrote :

I can confirm this behavior on 3.0.8 release @ C/W MARS.

Changed in evergreen:
status: New → Confirmed
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Duplicates of this bug

Other bug subscribers