Installing new version may result in lost files

Bug #1652432 reported by hilaire on 2016-12-24
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Dr. Geo II
Critical
Unassigned

Bug Description

As the user files are saved within the DrGep.App directory structure, upgrading to a newer version may result in lost user files (the MySketches and MyExports folders contents).

Installing newer version should be done as a merging installation. It depends on the Archive software used to install Dr.Geo. I am note sure yet how to overcome this issue.

First minimum step are
1. a WARNING file within DrGep.app
2. a warning notice in the web site, download page.

Any other ideas?

tags: added: installation
tags: added: installing
removed: installation
tags: added: installation
removed: installing
Changed in drgeo:
milestone: wip → 17.07
status: New → Fix Committed
Changed in drgeo:
status: Fix Committed → Fix Released
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers