"Move to" overwrites existing file without a warning

Bug #334245 reported by Nicolas Chachereau
8
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Do Plugins
Confirmed
Medium
Jason Smith

Bug Description

Steps needed to reproduce the bug:
Select a file in GNOME Do, use action "Move to" (from Files and Folders plugin) to move it to a folder where a file with the same name already exists.

Observed result:
The file is moved, the old file in the folder is lost.

Expected behaviour:
The existing file in the folder isn't overwritten. Instead, one of the following happens:
- GNOME Do asks the user what he wants to do, like Nautilus does (overwrite or cancel the move),
- GNOME Do doesn't move the file and warns the user about it,
- GNOME Do moves the file while slightly renaming it in order to avoid the name conflict, maybe also warning the user.
I'm not sure which one is best. Maybe there are still other options, but those are the most obvious ones.

Chris S. (cszikszoy)
Changed in do-plugins:
assignee: nobody → cszikszoy
importance: Undecided → Medium
status: New → Confirmed
Chris S. (cszikszoy)
Changed in do-plugins:
assignee: Chris S. (cszikszoy) → Jason Smith (jassmith)
tags: added: files-and-folders official-plugins
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  
Everyone can see this information.

Duplicates of this bug

Other bug subscribers