Add clearer warning that you are about to DELETE your entire encrypted folder.

Bug #956971 reported by psypher on 2012-03-16
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
CryptFolder-Indicator
High
Lorenzo Carbonell

Bug Description

Hi,

I have been using Cryptkeeper for a while and the behavior when removing an encrypted folder from the app is to WARN and ASK you if you want to also delete the encrypted folder itself, after it has deleted the link in the application.

This does not happen on Indicator-Cryptfolder. Cryptfolder just asks you: "Are you sure to remove this encryptation folder
 /home/username/.Test_encfs ?" It is not clear what is about to happen. Also spelling and grammar is incorrect.

Since my folders where created using a different application and most likely many other people do this as well it's extremely dangerous to just delete the actual encrypted folder as well when all you want to do is remove it from being managed by cryptfolder.

I luckily have a backup so I can restore the data.

The error should first state:" Are you sure you want to remove the encrypted folder from being managed by Cryptfolder:"
This ONLY removes the folder from being managed.

The next question should state:
"Do you want to permanently erase the encrypted data:"
THAT should delete the actual folder.

Much safer and user friendly.

Thanks for an otherwise very useful app.

Changed in cryptfolder-indicator:
status: New → In Progress
importance: Undecided → High
assignee: nobody → Lorenzo Carbonell (lorenzo-carbonell)
milestone: none → 0.0.4.0
Changed in cryptfolder-indicator:
status: In Progress → Fix Released
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers