Canonical SSO provider

User cannot deactivate their own account

Reported by Stuart Metcalfe on 2010-04-09
12
This bug affects 2 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Canonical SSO provider
Wishlist
Unassigned

Bug Description

When we shared a db with Launchpad, users were able to deactivate their own accounts from the Launchpad UI. This is no longer possible in the SSO app since we split the db. We should add a way to enable this (assuming we want to retain this functionality). It would be useful to understand the rationale behind user-deactivated accounts in Launchpad.

Changed in canonical-identity-provider:
status: New → Confirmed

It might also be worth providing a way for users to 'suspend' their own accounts. Suspended accounts aren't recoverable by the user so we should place suitably large warnings all over the place and possibly introduce an extra confirmation step. This would effectively enable a user to lock their own account if it's compromised or 'delete' it if they don't want to use our service any more.

This needs further review. As we no longer need to keep the inherited behaviours from LP, we may want to change this to enable users to "Close" their own accounts. We need to see how this might differ from existing behaviours.

Changed in canonical-identity-provider:
importance: Undecided → Wishlist
status: Confirmed → Incomplete
tags: added: proj-openit

Matt Griffin filed bug #664229 which seems very similar but provides a clear and real use case. If, after review, this bug doesn't produce any functionality beyond that requested by Matt, I suggest we close this one and focus our attention on his instead.

liu bo (1300733887-9) on 2012-03-10
Changed in canonical-identity-provider:
status: Incomplete → Fix Released
Changed in canonical-identity-provider:
status: Fix Released → Incomplete
Selene Scriven (toykeeper) wrote :

Since 2012-01-01, I've had at least 79 support tickets where a user wanted to delete their SSO account. This is roughly 25% of the tickets I get.

In the majority of these cases, they want to completely remove all their data instead of just deactivating or suspending the account.

These often happen when a user tries Ubuntu One, decides they'd rather use something else, and then file a ticket to have their account closed. However, other situations are common too, like they simply feel that they are done with us and want to tidy up when they leave.

Rodney Dawes (dobey) on 2013-05-20
Changed in canonical-identity-provider:
status: Incomplete → Expired
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers

Related blueprints