Background save dialog confusion with "save changes"

Bug #1347171 reported by fuhrmanator on 2014-07-22
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
calibre
Undecided
Unassigned

Bug Description

Calibre 1.45 under Windows 7.

I spent 3 hours last night making changes to spelling (inserting EM-DASH characters). Many, if not all, of the changed files did not persist when I opened the book again today in Calibre. It took me a while to figure out what I did wrong.

Here's what happened:

When I chose to quit, the program was actually saving in the background. This is a feature I was not aware of in Calibre. The dialog that popped up to warn me of this, fit in my mental model of a "changes need saving dialog," as this is the way 99.9% of apps work. So, I clicked "YES" thinking that I was saying "Yes, save my changes." -- that affirmative answer, sadly, results in abandoning the save and data loss.

I'm suggesting I am not the only person who will fall victim to this behavior. My suggestion is to change the dialog so that the buttons say "YES" for "continue to wait" and "No" to stop saving. In my case, I would have figured out something was different.

Fixed in branch master. The fix will be in the next release. calibre is usually released every Friday.

 status fixreleased

Changed in calibre:
status: New → Fix Released
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers