bzr rm {--force, --keep, --safe} is hard to use

Bug #400554 reported by Marius Kruger on 2009-07-17
12
This bug affects 2 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Bazaar
Medium
Marius Kruger

Bug Description

change behaviour to delete the files by default

* 'bzr rm foo' - will make foo unversioned and delete foo, making backups when necessary with the same rules 'bzr revert' uses.
* 'bzr rm foo --keep' - will only unversion (will not make backups).
* 'bzr rm foo --force' or 'bzr rm foo --delete' - will delete the file regardless if it is safe and will not make backups.

for further info/discussion see also:
http://bazaar-vcs.org/Specs/bzr-rm-behaviour

Related branches

Zearin (zearin) wrote :

I suspect this won't be received well because command line programs tend to prefer using --flags instead of confirmation dialogs, but…

What if you just asked the user "Delete, Keep, or Unversion? [Default: X]"

Marius Kruger (amanica) on 2010-07-09
Changed in bzr:
status: Confirmed → In Progress
Martin Pool (mbp) wrote :

@Zearin we could add an --interactive option to do that.

Vincent Ladeuil (vila) on 2010-08-20
Changed in bzr:
milestone: none → 2.3b1
status: In Progress → Fix Released
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers