Order of Execution

Bug #585049 reported by Solitaire
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
BleachBit
Medium
Andrew Ziem

Bug Description

I've just started to use BleachBit 0.7.4 in Ubuntu 10.04 and noticed that it's cleaning is not as "secure" as it could be.

Currently the program goes through the items alphabetically (From Adobe Reader --> yum)

Which means that the system wipe happens before thumbnails, email and torrent files are deleted.

Would it be more "secure" to reorder the items so that:
- First files are deleted,
- Then databases are Vacuumed / removed.
- Then the resulting free-space and memory/swap is cleaned / wiped?

That would seem a more secure way of cleaning the system.

Andrew Ziem (ahziem1)
Changed in bleachbit:
status: New → Triaged
importance: Undecided → Medium
Revision history for this message
Andrew Ziem (ahziem1) wrote :

SVN revision 2057 adds enhancement so the order is this
1. Delete files and vacuum
2. Deep scan (which is delete)
3. Wipe memory
4. Wipe free disk space

Why would you suggest a distinction between general delete and vacuuming (your first two items)?

Changed in bleachbit:
assignee: nobody → Andrew Ziem (ahziem1)
milestone: none → 0.8.3
status: Triaged → Fix Committed
Revision history for this message
Andrew Ziem (ahziem1) wrote :
Changed in bleachbit:
status: Fix Committed → Fix Released
Revision history for this message
Andrew Ziem (ahziem1) wrote :
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers