0.7.0 beta suggestion: thick, fat warning for Deep Scan

Bug #451324 reported by Daniel Riedemann on 2009-10-14
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
BleachBit
Undecided
Andrew Ziem

Bug Description

I open a ticket here because I personally think it's very important:
The deep scan feature is really, really dangerous! Please place at least a thick, fat, red and blinking warning about that ;o)

For instance, it searches *.bak files. But I have .bak files that I manually renamed to *.bak and that are really important for me to keep them. Some files like Thumbs.db on windows are ok to delete without a question, because they automatically get recreated. But my personal *.bak files I don't get back after delete :-(

Just one popup can save the user for great damage here.

best regards

Andrew Ziem (ahziem1) wrote :

Instead of a warning, what do you think about deep scan showing the extensions for the description? That way before the user clicks, he will know it will delete *.bak files. For example, the option description may change from 'Delete the backup files' to 'Delete *.bak and *~'? Otherwise, how do you suggest to phrase the warning?

Daniel Riedemann (darie) wrote :

I would suggest a popup saying "Please use the preview option to avoid data loss." and deny the use of the deep scan option without a previous used preview. At the moment you can use every option without clicking preview first, and that I would deny for deep scan. So the user has to preview what files are really going to be deleted.

In addition I would add a description something like "Scans your complete home directory for spare files. Please review the preview list to avoid data loss." directly under the header "Deep scan", like under the header Chromium stands "Web browser".

The Idea about extensions instead of the descriptions as you mentioned it would be very good :-)

Oh my... I hope you understand what I mean... since English isn't my mother tongue this is really hard to describe for me ;)

Andrew Ziem (ahziem1) wrote :

Added 'Inspect the preview for any files you want to keep.' in SVN 1334

Changed in bleachbit:
assignee: nobody → Andrew Ziem (ahziem1)
milestone: none → 0.7.0
status: New → Fix Committed
Andrew Ziem (ahziem1) wrote :
Changed in bleachbit:
status: Fix Committed → Fix Released
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers