Black card not handled correctly

Bug #1657317 reported by Chris Grimshaw on 2017-01-18
6
This bug affects 1 person
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
BellePoule
Wishlist
betonniere

Bug Description

I should start by saying that I know nothing about fencing outside of the USA, so it's possible that this is not a bug but just a case where BellePoule doesn't support tournaments as they are run in the USA.

In the USA Fencing Rule Book, rule t.105.2 reads "A competitor who is excluded from a competition may not continue to take part in that competition, even if he is already qualified for promotion to the next round. He loses the right to his individual classification and the place that he occupied remains unfilled; but the points obtained by the fencer up to the moment of his expulsion remain valid for the classification of the team in the team event, providing that he actually takes part in that team event." I believe this is a translation of the equivalent FIE rule.

In the USA (at least) the rule is interpreted as meaning that the place in the final results that the excluded fencer would have occupied is left empty and the remaining fencers do not move up one place.

BellePoule does not work that way. For example, in the attached .cotcot file, there are a total of 8 fencers and a fencer received a black card in the semi-finals. The final results show 7 fencers, and the highest seeded fencer who lost in the table of 8 appears as tied for third place and so receives a bronze medal despite having been eliminated in the Table of 8.

The way this should be handled (at least in the USA) is that in the place that would have been occupied by the excluded fencer, the words "Fencer excluded" should appear in the "Name" field, and the "Club" field should be blank. The remaining fencers should remain in their proper place instead of moving up one place.

Chris Grimshaw (cgrimshaw) wrote :
betonniere (betonniere) on 2017-01-18
Changed in bellepoule:
assignee: nobody → betonniere (betonniere)
betonniere (betonniere) wrote :

There's actually as you guessed a divergence between the USFA rules and the FIE rules (http://static.fie.org/uploads/8/44436-book%20t.pdf).

FIE document (t.105.2) :
 "...He loses the right to his individual classification and all the fencers ranked after the
disqualified fencer move up one place in the results of the competition...."

Solution:
In addition to the default classification policy, an alternative policy must be implemented in BellePoule. This alternative classification policy is applied instead of the default one when the event is governed by the USFA rules.

Changed in bellepoule:
status: New → Confirmed
importance: Undecided → Wishlist
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers