Restoring a folder retains new files

Bug #1371951 reported by Germar on 2014-09-20
14
This bug affects 2 people
Affects Status Importance Assigned to Milestone
Back In Time
Fix Released
Wishlist
Unassigned

Bug Description

- use bit to take a snapshot from a folder
- add a file into the original folder
- use bit to restore to previously created snapshot
- the new file still exists

Can this behavior be changed?
I expected bit would be able to switch between certain states of folders represented by snapshots.

Germar (germar) wrote :

I'll have a look if I can make this an optional restore option. IMHO default restore should never delete any files.

Changed in backintime:
status: New → Confirmed
importance: Undecided → Wishlist
Mauro (mauromol) wrote :

If you want to actually "go back in time", having a restore method that really replaces your current folder with the old backed up one would be useful, indeed. So, +1 for me to have an option for this.

flusi100 (flusi100) wrote :

If you delete/create/rename files in a folder (i. e. several hundred pictures and sidecar files), restoring with back in time messes up different states of files (some may be reverted to previous versions if they were modified, some may be recovered after deletion, renamed files will be doubled with the old name).

I agree that restoring should not delete files by default because this could lead to loss of data. But in some cases I would prefer bit to behave as requested. For version control systems for software development this is common. As a workaround the whole content of a folder can be deleted before restoring.

Germar (germar) on 2014-11-06
Changed in backintime:
milestone: none → 1.1.0
status: Confirmed → Fix Committed
Germar (germar) on 2015-01-15
Changed in backintime:
status: Fix Committed → Fix Released
To post a comment you must log in.
This report contains Public information  Edit
Everyone can see this information.

Other bug subscribers

Related questions